MUSE 2: LEAP

Abraham Akpan
2 min readOct 6, 2017

--

I have learned to savor each moment,
Move my body to the rhythm of the music, beat to beat…as the crescendo rises.
Leap at the sight of the horizon,
Taste the morning dew,
My pains and sadness of the night forgotten.

Why? you might ask
I know what it means to lack…yeah lack so much your hearts hurt, but better still I know the days of plenty.
I know what it means to be betrayed and hurt by the people you loved…but yet still I know what the hug of a true friend means.

I know what it means to pray and it seems God has forgotten who you are…but eventide I know the bliss of unmerited favour.
I know what it means to go to bed hungry…desires unfulfilled and vision….greater than that, I know what means for dreams to unfold.
I know what it means to be so uncertain of success….better still my soul comes alive at the joy of a sounding ovation and a resounding hallelujah, heralding the birth of success.
And yes I have failed….many times……but they are soon forgotten with the outcome of success.

Each of this and much more make me a fighter….
A fighter on my knees….
Not broken….but strengthen
Not frightened, but hopeful.
#brokenwhispher#
Roseplusthorn

--

--

Abraham Akpan

Human Capital Development|Innovation|Programmes| Mandela Washington Fellow