Abraham Akpan
2 min readAug 30, 2017

I GIVE UP

Two steps forward, ten steps backward just like a song on repeat.

A revolving door going round and round with an illusion of victory, but atlas every step just the same.

I have decided to give up, to let go.

Please don’t blame me, it was hard ………I could not hold on again.

I know I promised never to give up, to keeping singing the same sour song, to keep writing those endless lyrics.

To keep fighting the wind till the end, but my ship is broken and the anchor tossed to the sea.

I know I had said this many times, but today I swallow my pride, forgetting all illusions. Its hard and it is going to cost me so much, but i am going to shout it to the roof top, write it on the skyline……..I GIVE UP

I raise my head above the water and I let go.

I give up!

I give up!

I give up my doubt for flight

I give up my sadness for joy

I give up my shame for a name

I give up my fears for forgiveness

I give my weakness for strenght

I give up my failure for success

I give up my tears for a smile

i give up my hate for love

I give up my heartbreak; cause broken is where my heart feels closer to you.

I GIVE UP!



Abraham Akpan

Human Capital Development|Innovation|Programmes| Mandela Washington Fellow