Abraham Akpan
1 min readSep 18, 2017

BROKEN WHISPER

Mama said it was gonna hurt,
and truly it did.
Don’t wear your heart on your sleeves!
she shouted …..because even strong heart bleeds.

I never knew I was capable of loving like this,
Loving till it hurt,
loving till fault existed no more.
But even still,
I never knew I could bleed like this,
Till I was broken and I tried healing and couldn’t.

Anyone who says time heals lied,
Cause it has been long and time didn’t heal.
I remember your smile,
your lies I knew were lies but I still believed.
Believed, because I wanted to believe love doesn’t lie.

Many times during moment like this,I want to feel your hands around me,
Same hands that stabbed me,
Same hand that made me bleed,
Same hands that broke me.

How ironic!

If only I had listened,
Listened to the faint whispers of my heart,
Telling me to wake up from the mirage.
Stare at me long enough in the mirror,
to know how much loving you has cost me.
I held the rose and got pricked,
I was bullet proofed,
but I got shot..and now I bleed…..
#roseplusthorn#

Abraham Akpan

Human Capital Development|Innovation|Programmes| Mandela Washington Fellow